R52 :: Cabrio Talk (2005-2008) Cooper and Cooper S convertible (R52) discussion.

R52 Cabrio windscreen / deflector opinions

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2009, 07:31 AM
HyperBlueGator
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cabrio windscreen / deflector opinions

Hi, Newbie here and was just curious if the OEM windscreen/deflector really worked. Does it in fact greatly reduce the wind and noise from behind. I am a female & do need to keep my hair in place from time to time but would love to have the top down more often. Thanks for your opinions!

Old 01-19-2009, 08:22 AM
MarcoEsc
3rd Gear
Short answer: yes.
Long answer: search for and read the dozens of threads here where the consensus is "yes".

Old 01-19-2009, 08:48 AM
HyperBlueGator
1st Gear
Originally Posted by MarcoEsc
Short answer: yes.
Long answer: search for and read the dozens of threads here where the consensus is "yes".
Yea, I started doing a lot of reading after my post. Thanks though!

Old 01-19-2009, 12:48 PM
blue lightning
3rd Gear
I had the dealer throw it in when I bought the car, if you can't get the dealer to give it to you it will cost $300-$500 for it depending where you get it. I was surprised how well it works, and tell everyone that it is a wust have. it stores in the boot when not in use, which for me is all summer and most of the winter.

Old 01-19-2009, 01:51 PM
ScottRiqui
OVERDRIVE
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
I don't know if you've come across it yet in your browsing, but one of the other NAM members (brownflyer?) has developed a windscreen that stretches between the front seats. I haven't seen anything definitive as to whether it's more or less effective than the OEM windscreen, but it does allow you to have passengers in the back seat, which is a nice plus if that's important to you. I believe it's also significantly cheaper than the OEM windscreen.

That being said, my wife and I both have the OEM screens in our convertibles and love them.

Old 01-19-2009, 01:53 PM
HyperBlueGator