R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 My first car and MINI

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2008, 07:46 AM
sp4z
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My first car and MINI

As soon as i saw the commercial for the MINI Cooper S Clubman I was hooked. I was looking at the MINI brand for my first car but they couldn't hold enough people for my taste. When I saw the Clubman I knew that it was the car of my dreams. The only problem I'm facing is what to get with it. I am a college student so I don't have much money but I've already begun the sacrifices to save for this car.

Right now I have 3 views influencing what I should get:
~my boyfriend says I should only get sport package and struts to keep it light weight but he tunes his car
~my dad has never splurged on a car so he'd rather the cheap, no accessories route
~my female self loves the ideas of some of the extras like the sunroof and automatic a/c and wants to be pampered beyond my wallet's dreams

From a MINI owner's point of view what are the vitals? and how can I keep it affordable?

Old 02-22-2008, 09:32 AM
tim781996
6th Gear
First and foremost: it's your car, your money, and your decision.

So, we'll ignore what your father has to say and focus on your boyfriend. He wants you to get the sport package. Is that for him or for you? Are you the type that likes to race people on the highway, or are you more polite than that. Keep in mind that you'll get a smoother ride if you don't get the S, and you'll save money.

Now, lets focus on some of the options.
Transmission: Do you know if you want auto or manual? Again, if you get manual, you can save some money. And you'll still have that sporty feel. What type of traffic do you anticipate driving in? Manual is a bad choice for stop & go traffic.

Premium package: The sun roof is a nice, and I love the climate control and excellent sound. That's me. Is it worth $1,500 to you?