R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 New to Mini's

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2008, 02:46 PM
Brussolino
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Mini's

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post, and I have never owned a Mini, but I am seriously considering the clubman for my next car. I currently drive a Dodge Magnum RT wagon. I consider myself a "driver" in every sense of the word. I love to drive. Now I still have 2 years left on my current loan, but pay through the nose for gas as the Magnum gets about 20 mpg. As an accountant I ran a schedule to figure out the total costs over the next 5 years on both cars (assuming I pay off the dodge in 2 years/and or get a 5 year for the mini)

I think I will end up saving money, as I plan to put down 5-7 g's and finance 20-23? I would end up saving money in the short run, as my monthly would be less, and fuel costs would drop...And I could always pay it down faster with the savings. My dodge is a 75,000 miles and the tranny was destroyed, So that just got replaced with a brand new one...I have no more warranty left, and I am worried this car will cost me in repairs over the next 5 years.

I am thinking I want the Clubman S, but is it really that much different form the base? Am I going to regret not getting the S, as someone who loves to drive, and enjoys good "pickup"?
The 4,000 in difference in the models could easily be spent on many of the avaliable options...

Am I missing any costs, not factored in to this schedule? I have had an awful experience with this car, and will not buy american again, and I want to get better MPG's, this car seems to be perfect for what I am looking for.

What options are a must for someone who loves to "drive"? I am pretty much decided on a stick, and I need a sunroof. I also love the look of the dark rims on this car...I have been toying around with the build option.

Decisions, decisions...