R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 Manual or Automatic? Which is "better"?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2008, 09:42 AM
Ahchoo01
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Manual or Automatic? Which is "better"?

I test drove an automatic Mini Cooper Clubman this past Saturday. I'm not a professional driver or full fledged Mini enthusiast by any means (yet ) and I felt that the automatic drove well and handled corners agilely.

At the suggestion of the dealer, I also test drove a manual Clubman for comparison. I'll honestly say that it seemed a little more spirited and fun to drive. With a manual, you simply just have more control.

That being said, I live in a fairly urban area about 4 miles from downtown San Diego and I'm not sure I'd have the ability to make much use of a manual. While it may be more fun to drive on non congested, windy roads, for me, it doesn't make much sense when I'm stuck in bumper to bumper traffic heading down the 5 freeway at 5 pm.

I've read several reviews and spoke with the mini dealer who all seem to suggest that a manual transmission is the way to go. They told me that approximately 75% of mini coopers are sold with manual transmissions. An avid mini fan who just completed her order for a new Mini Cooper even chimed in to say "go with the manual. They have higher re-sale values anyways."

I'm seriously thinking about purchasing a Mini Cooper Clubman in the near future but I'm unsure about whether I should go with an automatic or manual transmission. There are pros and cons to both but the practical side of me thinks that living in relatively crowded area, an automatic makes much more sense for my daily commute, which will likely be most of my driving time except for a few road trips here and there.

Can anyone provide their insight and offer some advice on which kind of transmission is "better" manual or automatic?

Thanks everyone in advance!

Old 03-10-2008, 09:51 AM