R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 Learned my lesson (a rant)

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2009, 06:38 PM
Joep
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Learned my lesson (a rant)

Let me start out by saying I don't like to complain, but this just bugs the crap out of me.

I recently started riding a bike again and I usually take my bike in the back of my clubman. Because it's a pain in the **** to break down my bike, I decided that I would look into the roof rack and bike holder found on the MINIUSA site.

This week I called the dealership to schedule an appointment to get some work done and I ask about the roof rack and bike holder. At first the person in parts department tells me they don't exist. Then after pointing them to the website (I show them the accessories on the MINIUSA site) they agreed that the parts existed and, to their surprise, they had four roof racks and one bike holder on-site. I asked for a quote on the parts (knowing that the roof rack online was $230 and the bike holder was $141) and they say $577. I ask if that the total cost, and the say yes "parts and labor".

So I bring my Clubman into the dealership and tell them to do the work. A few hours later I get a call and they say that it would be $849 to install the roof rack and bike holder. $849! What happened to the $577?? They say they can't pay for the parts at $577. I tell them that I was quoted $577. They apologize but they say it can't be done at that price. So I decline the work.