R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 Newb looking for mod advice... sway bars and such

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2011 | 07:13 AM
romille
|
3rd Gear
Newb looking for mod advice... sway bars and such

Forgive me if there is some extensive thread on this that I missed in my search...

I got my Clubby a couple weeks ago and am loving it, but I want to make some modifications. I know I want a rear sway bar and end links, but I don't know which ones. I am really new at car stuff and still working out what things are and what they do, so I was hoping for a little help from you guys.

I also have no idea how to pick good parts! The Alta bar has an appealing price; I have seen bars that cost much more, but I really don't know what makes them worth $700 compared to $200! I also don't know if it is really worth replacing other things like control arms, springs, etc either.

I like that my MCCS has a more comfortable ride than my husband's MCS. I don't want to sacrifice much in the way of comfort. I also don't care much about "go faster" mods because my car is mostly the around town car with occasional fun on the twisties. Most of the mods we do will be to the MCS. I am just looking to make my car more fun in the twisties really.

Old 01-26-2011 | 07:34 AM
romille
|
3rd Gear
like I said, newb

Guess I should have put this in the mod section of the forum, didn't think about it until now though. Sorry, I'm a dolt.

I wanted to add that my first thing will probably be a strut tower brace up front... then I will move to the rear. My plan is to start out with the sway bar and end links, see how it feels, and go from there. But I would like to hear the opinions of people that know more than me!

Old 01-29-2011 | 06:03 AM
Raymazing
4th Gear
Alta sways are great. Have them on my car now and had them on my R53.

Old 02-02-2011 | 05:06 PM
Joey Mojo
3rd Gear