R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 Clubman S obsessed

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2011, 01:24 PM
Noble1
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clubman S obsessed

Put my deposit down this week for a pepper white Clubman S with black roof and wheels. Unfortunately there is an 8 week wait for delivery to San Diego. Just realized how impatient I really am I am sure it will be worth the waite thoguh. I have been driving an 08 Wrangler Sahara for the past three years but was looking for something more dog friendly but still fun. Also the poor gas MPG's on the Jeep helped me decide.

The one thing I am curious about is the whole run flat vs reg tires. Also any recomendations on tinting. O am not a fan of the really dark but I wouldlike to keep the black interior cool from the Socal sun.

Old 02-12-2011, 02:25 PM
shaffras
Neutral
Also have an all Pepper White Clubman S in Florida. I just had the windows tinted with SunTek Carbon wjich looks great and you really can feel the difference inside. I paid $199. I don't like the run flats. See my poat about fitting a donut spare, etc.

Good luck, you will love it.

Old 02-12-2011, 02:27 PM
maacodale
4th Gear
Welcome to the "soon to be" Clubman owners group. I remember those days. It'll be a long 8 weeks.

The run flat versus regular tires is a personal choice. There aren't many performance run flats out there. They ride a bit rough and can be more than a little loud. The kids 07 MCS had the run flats on for about a year. Our Clubman S only had them on for about 2 months. We both went with Yokohama S Drives originally, now he has General UHP's and I'm running Continental's DW tires. We're both very happy with our choices, though I like his and he likes mine.

As for tint, DO IT. It changes the look of the car and will really help darken the pepper white.

Congrats again!

Old 02-12-2011, 03:23 PM
UAL_Kingpin
5th Gear