R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 Regarding ease of resale: manual or auto?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2012 | 09:47 PM
6thGear
|
4th Gear
Regarding ease of resale: manual or auto?

Newbie here. I'm considering a Clubman S and plan on only keeping the car for 3-4 years. Regarding resale, would it be easier to sell a manual or auto MCCS. I want a manual, but my gut tells me the auto will be easier to sell. What say you Clubbie vets?

Old 09-28-2012 | 12:13 AM
Day177017
4th Gear
When I bought my clubman a month ago, the dealership had a hard time moving manuals. I think I was the only 6 speed they sold that day. The car had been sitting at least a week before I called asking about it. I also got them to knock the price down 3k.

Obviously you won't know what'll happen in 3-4 years. To be honest, I think the Coopers are a lot more popular than Clubmans are. I also think the introduction of the Countryman has hurt the sales for the clubman. If you are looking at resale, you're probably better off getting a Cooper.

Old 09-28-2012 | 01:32 AM
calforhelp
5th Gear
A manual is always going to have a little worse resale value in any car. I believe my car sat on the lot for 29 days at a fantastic price before I bought it. MSRP was around $34k, They had it listed for $30k, I got it for $28k out the door.

So you might be able to find a manual a little cheaper to begin with unless you're buying new of course.

Either way, I'd assume you're getting a MINI because it's fun! Don't let a possible $1k loss at trade-in time keep you from enjoying every ounce of fun you can get out of it! If you want a manual, get it. Otherwise for the next 3-4 years you'll be wishing you did.