R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 1st mods

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2013, 05:40 PM
Somaj
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1st mods

Hello,

As I am new to the Mini's, I was curious if the upgrade path I had for my previous car would work for the Mini. I had a 2005 Dodge Magnum RT. I started with a cold air intake and more open exhausts. Followed that up with a computer programmer that flashed the ECU with either included "canned" tunes or custom ones created by a shop. Now , this was for a naturally aspirated v8. Do the above things work as well for the turbo 1.6L? Is there a computer programmer for the Mini?

Old 06-06-2013, 05:43 PM
bratling
Super Moderator
Received 217 Likes on 150 Posts
Originally Posted by Somaj
Hello,

As I am new to the Mini's, I was curious if the upgrade path I had for my previous car would work for the Mini. I had a 2005 Dodge Magnum RT. I started with a cold air intake and more open exhausts. Followed that up with a computer programmer that flashed the ECU with either included "canned" tunes or custom ones created by a shop. Now , this was for a naturally aspirated v8. Do the above things work as well for the turbo 1.6L? Is there a computer programmer for the Mini?
Honestly? Start with handling. Raw power isn't the Mini's strength.

Hit the suspension forums for details, but rear sway bar is a good place to start, followed by springs and shocks.

Old 06-06-2013, 06:06 PM
RobMuntean
6th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Suspension first then hit the drivetrain upgrades. Best bolt on's are FMIC, 2.5 or 3" exhaust for more flow, downpipes(mainly catless for more power with tune), and a tune. You can always add goodies like a diverter valve by Forge! CAI is for noise, a K&N panel filter will give you that blowoff sound you may like.