R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 The R56 and Snow

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2007, 03:16 PM
megasport
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The R56 and Snow

I live in San Diego and was wondering if some of the East Coast owners could comment on how the R56 handles in the snow---getting through deep snow---traction from a standing start---and just general on road (snow) performance.

Thanks

Old 10-06-2007, 04:23 PM
ghosthound
6th Gear
although i have no experience in this, i would assume some HUGE factors would be...

With or without snow tires
LSD/DSC?

Old 10-06-2007, 04:34 PM
Paul
6th Gear
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
If you have all season or winters - I'm sure it will be fine. DSC is a plus. I can't comment on LSD - my manual R56 doesn't have it and our R53 is an auto. There is going to be a little more clearance compared to the R53. I can't wait for the snow to start falling!

Old 10-06-2007, 05:41 PM
MrVvrroomm
3rd Gear
My wife picked up her MINI at the end of February here in Minnesota. Although we didn't have any huge snowfalls after she picked it up, it performed without issue for the rest of the winter.

We ordered her car with the 16" all seasons. The runflats suck. She will be running snow-specific tires on the oem 16" wheels this next winter.

If things get real bad she can always take my Subaru (next to the Mini).

Old 10-06-2007, 06:56 PM
pigwidgin
3rd Gear