R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Fuel Additives

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2008, 02:46 PM
rogerjeep
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel Additives

What fuel additives if any are people using in their Coopers. I currently have a Lightning Blue MCS in production.
Should I use every-time I fill up or how often.
Thanks any advice would be great. I will be a first time Mini owner and want to do what is right.

Old 06-23-2008, 03:42 PM
Frank Matyja
Blew By U
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I only use Chevron which is one of the few top tier gasolines. It contains Techron which cleans your fuel system and upper cylinders. I also buy a bottle of Techron and add it to the fuel after every oil change. I have been doing this for many years with all of my cars with total sucess.

Old 06-23-2008, 03:47 PM
Jhud
4th Gear
actually, i know a million people will chime in and tell me they do this and that with no problems but you shouldnt put additives in at all. BMW says no. most of the products out there including octane boosters are just ethanol and most stations run 10-15% as it is. putting more in will result in a poor burn and can cause no starts,rough running, misfires,a nd other general driveability issues including premature failure of the fuel pump and filter. IF YOU MUST put something in BMW sells a bottle of fuel injector cleaner in the black bottle and its very cheap ( like 7 dollars ) this will also help in any issues you may have down the road with warranted parts by using what they tell you to. On top of that most manufactures now adays have their own additives packages they already add to the fuel. If your really interested in this stuff ask for a sheet at your local deaership on "BMW top tier" fuel distributers.

on a side note the black bottle is actually pretty good stuff and can be picked up at the parts counter. part number 82 14 0 413 341

Old 06-23-2008, 04:45 PM
JCR1960
5th Gear