R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 To Sun Roof or NOT to Sun Roof, THAT is the question...

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 09:43 AM
miniobx
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
To Sun Roof or NOT to Sun Roof, THAT is the question...

OK, NAM...I am relatively new to this great community. We're about to order, probably, a JustaCooper, Chili Red or Pepper White with black roof. The option possibilities do make you crazy, but so does this Sun Roof topic. Is there any real documentation ANYWHERE on this site by someone who has actually owned a MC or MCS with a Sun Roof who actually had noise, rattle and leak problems? There are lots of references to postings about such problems on NAM, but I see NONE.
Of course there are heat issues with a huge window over your head, D'Oh. But, there seem to be fixes for this:
1. Tint
2. Ceramic tint
3. Shades
4. Decals
5. Clouds
6. Total solar eclipse
No one has mentioned anything about the heat GAIN in the winter months - is that not a plus on a cold winter day?
So, I ask NAM to point me to owners who have ACTUAL experience with a squeaky, rattly, and leaky Mini Sun Roof. Please.

Old 08-06-2008, 09:53 AM
sk8erguyzach
4th Gear
no sun roof on ziggy but it doesnt bother me i enjoy the privacy over other cars looking down at you through the sun roof winter months dont bother me either but i live in florida so it never gets any colder than 60degrees but it is definatly nice 2 get that little more pepieness in the winter...MINIs love the cooler weather

Old 08-06-2008, 10:02 AM
callahan00
5th Gear
I have, er I mean had, a sunroof on mine and liked it since I had the anthracite headliner. It made it much less cave-like. You'll hear six reasons for and half a dozen reason against it. Go with you gut.

Old 08-06-2008, 10:08 AM
PhantomMC
3rd Gear