R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Melted Bonnet Scoop

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2008, 02:28 PM
atmnlv
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Melted Bonnet Scoop

Hello to all, going on two months as a proud owner of a 2008. I live in Vegas and my scoop is starting to sag.The dealer just informed me that the newer 08's are having this issue. He also said a rep from MINI would be inat the end of the month to discuss this issue? So my fix is to get a primered one ordered and paint it to match, a carbon upgrade is not an option or allowed as an exchange. I am concerened about the paint matching or it still melts.Is there anyone out there who has had a fix done, and what was done to address the apparent design flaw.

Thanks

Old 08-14-2008, 02:46 PM
atmnlv
1st Gear
Sorry if I posted a duplicate thread I'm new to this.

Old 08-14-2008, 03:01 PM
willsblackmini08
5th Gear
i noticed mine starting to warp as well. I'm not happy about it, i've had mine for about a month now. I'm at least glad to here i'm not the only one with this problem.

Last edited by willsblackmini08; 08-15-2008 at 08:35 PM.
Old 08-14-2008, 03:19 PM
pillar
5th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
oh he got you with that mini rep... dont take that as an answer. it doesnt matter if an official mini rep is there or not. its still their fault and its a defect. if they gave you a mini with a dent in the door, are you gonna wait to have a mini rep to examine it? its an issue with the warranty wich should be dealt on the spot.

Old 08-14-2008, 05:02 PM
DrewN
6th Gear
Word ^^. At the very least you should ask for a replacement. Actually we all should, that should get someone's attention.

Old 08-14-2008, 06:03 PM
daffodildeb
6th Gear
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Lots of posts on this topic--one of the more recent threads is this one, but there are several others, most quite lengthy:

https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...d.php?t=148413