R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Help me spec my 2009 Cooper S

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2008, 12:18 PM
merbel
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help me spec my 2009 Cooper S

I have a 2004 Cooper S and am about to order a new 2009. I was just at the dealer and drove a couple. I know I want premium, cold weather package, upgraded stereo, leather, etc but where I am stumped is sport suspension, limited slip diff, wheel size, etc. I drove a 2007 (or 08, not sure-it was the sales person's) who has 17" wheels and a sport suspension, no lim slip. Drove another 07 that had lim slip, 18" JC wheels and no sport suspension. It seemed to me the 18 inch, no sport suspension was a tad more fun to drive but I had only a short time in both.
Then the whole question of full JC Works, but I think that is overboard and the cost perhaps too high. I am an aggressive driver who likes a fun car but does not plan any track work, etc.
I currently have 16 inch wheels with sport package (6sp) and did not feel the ride of the ones I tried today was any rougher than mine, perhaps even less so.
So anyone who can help with the above, I would appreciate it. I am excited about a new Mini and want to make this as special (or more so!) than my first.

Old 08-16-2008, 01:18 PM
Robin Casady
6th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I would recommend the limited slip diff (LSD). The MCS has a lot of torque. Without LSD the electronic ASC will cut engine output to prevent wheel spin. LSD delays ASC intervention until LSD is overwhelmed. If you can get it, I think DTC would be a good idea. It applies the brake to a spinning wheel, which automatically transfers power to the other wheel. The factory JCW uses DTC instead of LSD. I'm not sure whether you can order DTC now, or have to wait until December.