R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Mini Cooper (JCW) Found... Ya or Na?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2009, 08:48 AM
ray66
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mini Cooper (JCW) Found... Ya or Na?

Howdy Group -
Newbie here. Looking to buy a new or used Mini. I like the JCW models. Help me out... what would you do? Buy new from my local dealer or buy used? Go for ta ormal Mini or hi-performance KCW model?

JCW: http://miami.craigslist.org/brw/cto/1367924728.html

Local Dealer ( Orlando ) http://www.iwantamini.com/

Thanks!

Old 09-24-2009, 09:55 AM
thulchatt
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
I am biased and cheep so I would almost always go used.
The link to the JCW looks fine but it just depends on what you are looking for.

Also, depends on how much you need/want a warranty.
I don't even have a MINI dealer in my town so I deal with almost all of the issues on my car.

Lastly, if you are looking at new you probably want to ask this question in the 2nd generation forum. The 1st generation ended in 06 for hard tops and 08 for verts.

Good luck.

Old 09-24-2009, 10:09 AM
nabeshin
Functioning Lunatic
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Thread moved for more relevant exposure.

Since the new car is being considered, is money not an issue? Maybe you can get the used one and spend the extra on mods.

Old 09-24-2009, 11:22 AM
Tall Mini
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The CL car looks nice (as much as one can tell from the ad) and if it did in fact belong to a "grown up" it could be a great deal. New vs used is always going to come down to preference. There is obviously less risk in buying new but you pay for that. It also depends a lot on how you are paying for it (cash vs financing) as the new car can be much less to finance vs the used.