R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 New to Mini Culture, is this acceptable?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2009, 05:38 AM
Babalouie
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Mini Culture, is this acceptable?

I just bought an 09 MCS Chili Red, White roof with a sunroof. I want to get the sunroof wrapped to ward off the South Florida Sun. I would love to put a vinyl American Flag on it. It would look so good. Is this ok or considered bad form?

Old 10-22-2009, 05:48 AM
Stig One
Banned
In south florida you need a cuban flag

Old 10-22-2009, 05:57 AM
4xAAA
6th Gear
I would not be so bold as to tell you that you can't. As a disabled vet, I would ask you not to display the flag in that manner.

http://www.usflag.org/flagetiquette.html

I only offer my opinion. And I thank you for asking.

Old 10-22-2009, 06:03 AM
Babalouie
2nd Gear
Originally Posted by 4xAAA
I would not be so bold as to tell you that you can't. As a disabled vet, I would ask you not to display the flag in that manner.
Thanks 4X, that's all I really needed, no flag on top.

Anyone have ideas on what could be patriotic and go with the red & white colors?

Old 10-22-2009, 06:10 AM
Splattj
2nd Gear
Originally Posted by 4xAAA

4xAAA, I want to start by thanking you for your service to our country.

As to the improper or disrespectful use of the flag, I'm confused. I don't mean to start some sort of fight, but why can a web page dedicated to the flag display an image of the flag but a person can't put an image of the flag on their car? I'd understand laminating the flag to the car would be bad, but we're talking about a sticker (albeit a large one.) I also understand that sitting on, wiping your face with, or printing the flag on something easily disposed of is disrespectful but displaying an image of the flag doesn't seem to be so to me.