R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Pre-Purchase Questions: Stripes, Lamps, and Going Black

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2010, 07:54 AM
Pirate007
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pre-Purchase Questions: Stripes, Lamps, and Going Black

Newbie here.. Hola.. and soon to be Mini owner....Woohoo! Supposed to place my order within the next 2 weeks. Wonderful site here, BTW.. Tons of invaluable knowledge.

Have a few questions for now...they are somewhat general in nature.

1. Those of you who have purchased BLACK Minis... Any regrets. We all know that black is the hardest color to keep looking good and clean. With the limited color choices for the S model... I'm pretty sure I'll be going black. Opinions from those who've gone black?

2. $500+ for driving lamps?? OK.. I admit I just want the driving lamps for the looks... but the price gives me ED... Surely there are some cheaper aftermarket alternatives? and I'm sure somebody here can furnish a link or advice.. Anyone?

3. Attention **** Retentive: I'll be ordering mine with stripes as shown below. Never owned a car with vinyl stripes. My question is... when waxing these cars, are there any issues with getting wax off on the edge of the decals? Am I over-thinking this? or is it a PITA to keep the areas looking good around the edges as it's not a smooth surface??

4. I'll be buying aftermarket wheels sooner or later. Are the standard wheels worth anything on the market? or eBay?

TIA all...

Old 11-23-2010, 08:44 AM
martinb
6th Gear
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Nice looking car. I've had several black cars in the past and as good as they looked brand new, I soon regretted getting black. It's just a royal pain to keep looking good. My Mini is a dark silver.

As for stripes, can't help you there. My personal preference is not to have them. I like a much cleaner look. But all that's personal.