R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Teaching friend how to drive stick...

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2011, 01:04 PM
Acesup1090
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Teaching friend how to drive stick...

Would teaching a friend how to drive stick do extensive damage to my clutch? I really want him to learn, but I don't want to teach him on my car if the general consensus is that it will to considerable damage to the clutch. What do you guys think?

Old 04-18-2011, 01:14 PM
JustinGTP
5th Gear
Received 10 Likes on 3 Posts
If he stalls it a couple of times, it's not a big deal.

I don't foresee you having any problems with a learner. Some bunny hopping and stalling will be normal.

Hell, even as a seasoned manual driver, I stall now and then when I am not paying attention in parking lots or what have you.

Old 04-18-2011, 01:18 PM
Maugre
5th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
It might do more extensive damage to your sanity. By all means, try and find another vehicle to abuse. Teaching a novice on clutch operation can be both brutal and funny at the same time. Good luck and have fun.

Old 04-18-2011, 01:28 PM
Acesup1090
2nd Gear
I think he is smart enough not to ride it or slip it much. The biggest issue is going to be stalling on hills. I'll be watching his feet to make sure he doesn't develop the horrible habit of riding the clutch, but hopefully all goes well.

Old 04-18-2011, 01:29 PM
JustinGTP
5th Gear
Yeah, when my bro taught me, he said the clutch is either in or out, don't use it to keep the car from rolling back.

Teach him a handbrake start on a hill. Very handy especially in steep underground parking lots.

Old 04-18-2011, 01:55 PM
Crashton
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Personally I would not do it. Very nice of you to teach a friend. Is he willing to eat the cost of a clutch as his possible tuition fee?

Old 04-18-2011, 02:02 PM
minimike21
5th Gear