R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Against my better judgment, I opted for the extended maintenance...

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2011, 12:51 PM
d@g
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Against my better judgment, I opted for the extended maintenance...

I always decline any type of extended warranty/service plan based on the principle that the dealer wouldn't be pushing it if they weren't pure money-makers. Still, after buying a used (CPO) MINI on Friday and reading through the forums here, there are enough reports of earlier than normal clutch problems and brake repairs to give me pause. If I had been with the car since mile 1, I might feel differently, but with nearly 40K on the odometer, I'm a little concerned about the big unknown (how the previous owner treated the car).

When I started researching the extended maintenance program, I thought to myself -- I've been driving manuals for 30+ years and never wore out a clutch before 100K, and who pays the dealer-quoted $600 per axle for brake jobs??? Then I read a number of posts that started with "I've been driving manuals for 30+ years and never wore out a clutch before 100K until I had a MINI."

Anyhow, I got the dealer down to $1200 for the extended plan (6 yrs, 100K) with the standard coverage (clutch, brake pads, rotors, oil changes, cabin filter, etc.). If the car is anything like the VWs I drove for years, then I will be paying twice what I would have for brakes and oil changes. If the MINI needs one set of ($600) brakes and oil changes, then I'll about break even. Anything unknown/catastrophic (subject to "limitations" and all the ball-busting fine print), and I'll come out ahead.

One thing that does bug me is that you have to wait until the car tells you it needs something before they'll fix it. I can't get brakes done at 99K if there's no warning light (my understanding).