R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Terrible traction with all-season runflats (?/?!)

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2013 | 06:52 PM
superkoopa
|
Neutral
Terrible traction with all-season runflats (?/?!)

I'm hoping you knowledgable people have some answers for me. My question, in short, is whether or not you all have experienced traction issues with your stock Continental ContiProContact all-season tires.

Last week I picked up a '13 Hardtop S, and I've been loving it. Not only is this the first new car I've ever owned, but the car I've been driving for three years is a 2003 BMW 325xi. My new R56 is much snappier, and I've been go-carting around town like a madman in between applying coats of wax.

Today, I took her for her first extended test drive, taking a long and winding mountain pass on a lazy Sunday afternoon. All was going good until I got into the heavier twisties, at which point my car just couldn't do what I asked of it. Whereas with my BMW I would have sailed through these curves without a squeak, my Mini just felt like it couldn't grip the road properly. I wasn't even pushing it that hard; my tires were just screaming and failing to find a purchase.

Now I am considering two possible causes: drivetrain and tires. I know that my BMW was AWD, and the inherent handling benefits are obvious. But it was also equipped with some pretty righteous summer rubber. My Mini, however, has the ContiProContact all-season runflats. So what I'm wondering is whether or not you all have had trouble getting good grip out of these tires, or whether I've just gotten weak and reliant on my AWD handling. I'm thinking that these stiff all seasons have to play a part in it; I tested a R53 with summers and really peppered it through some bends and it held on tight.