R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Who here does their own mechanical work?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2013, 08:51 PM
MiniCruise
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Who here does their own mechanical work?

Just curious. I recently purchased an 09 MC'S. I get that they have some issues. So I am wondering who on here does their own repairs such as timing chain replacement or other "major" repairs? I realize most people don't do this kind of repair on their own and take it to a shop to get fixed when they have a problem. I am more of a hands on type of guy and my background is internal and ecu mods on late model v8 cars. The mini intrigues me and looking for others with common experience and knowledge.

Old 08-01-2013, 11:37 PM
nrfitchett4
3rd Gear
I recently purchased a 2007 MCS and I'm doing my own maintenance, but I got an extended warranty that i will use as much as possible for big jobs.
Previous car was 2006 grand prix and I did all repairs on it.

Old 08-02-2013, 04:03 AM
countryboyshane
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
The MINI is a relatively easy car to work on. I've done most of my own maintenance. The most work I've had to do on mine is drop the sub-frame to replace control-arm bushings, but nothing major yet thank God!

I would say the biggest pain with the platform, and BMW in general, is all the special German tools that are required when doing hardcore engine work. Cam holders, timing tools, damper holders... bleh!

Old 08-02-2013, 07:00 AM
v10climber
6th Gear
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
I don't think the mini crowd is one that generally does their own repairs outside of simple things like brakes/oil changes/etc.

Agreed that all the specialty tools can get irritating. Not to mention the fasteners. Fortunately it seems to be just e-torx and torx. And don't forget the special tools for doing the carbon deposit cleaning on your own!