R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Correct Maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2014, 04:30 PM
EmmaR56s
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Correct Maintenance

I'm new to Mini so I don't really know what to do and when to do it.

What oil do I use?
When do I change the oil?
What about other essential fluids?

2008 R56S

Old 04-27-2014, 05:22 PM
micromini234
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Any type of synthetic, 5w-30 or 0w-40 I use mobil 1 0w-40 in the winter and 5w- 30 in the summer. There might be a lot of controversy over that though.

Looks like your an a so around 5-7k miles.
Depending on your miles since your new Look up timing chain rattle and turbo oil line leaking.

Again depending on how good you are with a wrench its probably a good idea to change your transmission fluid. If your an automatic its a long process. Manual on the other hand is really easy. Hope that helps.

Old 04-27-2014, 05:38 PM
Cngizbleevng
3rd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Your owner's manual has that info, though many on here like to do some of the maintenance more often (especially oil changes).

Old 04-27-2014, 05:40 PM
danjreed
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by EmmaR56s
I'm new to Mini so I don't really know what to do and when to do it. What oil do I use? When do I change the oil? What about other essential fluids? 2008 R56S
Mobil 1 0w40. It's easy to get, covers the needs of the hot turbo.

Change it every 5k. Yes, it can be pushed.. But 5k is safe. I do a filter every 10k.

Other fluids, brake - every two years. Coolant and trans fluid at 40k. It's not bad at all.

Get the Bentley repair guide. It's really useful.

Old 04-27-2014, 06:01 PM
mbwicz
6th Gear
Received 50 Likes on 43 Posts