R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Emissions Fail

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2014, 05:48 AM
micromini234
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
So I failed my emissions test. Im not an expert at deciphering what the fail notice means.
If you look in the picture the catalyst says it was not ready. Not sure if that means I need to heat the Cat up or what? In Ct it just a OBDII and visual check.

At any rate I do have high flow cat 200 cell but the CEL were tuned out of it. Does anyone have experience with this.

Attached Thumbnails Emissions Fail-img_1839.jpg  

Last edited by micromini234; 05-13-2014 at 07:26 AM.
Old 05-13-2014, 06:19 AM
rckrzy1
6th Gear
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Just because you don't have a CEL does not mean your car is reporting CAT status correctly, I don't know about MINI tuning as I did MANY GM cars and turning off the CEL has nothing to do with the reporting of CAT status, I'd ask your tuner.

Old 05-13-2014, 07:35 AM
micromini234
4th Gear
Originally Posted by rckrzy1
Just because you don't have a CEL does not mean your car is reporting CAT status correctly, I don't know about MINI tuning as I did MANY GM cars and turning off the CEL has nothing to do with the reporting of CAT status, I'd ask your tuner.
Yeah I sent email over.

I definitely know if you get a cel you fail.

I don't understand how the car knows or monitors the cat then. I was under the assumption- that the o2 sensors do that.
the o2 sensors are definitely working and present. I can see the car switch to open and closed loops by my scangauge so wouldn't that suggest the cat should be ready.?
Unless to get rid of the cel these areas had to be in a sense turned off?

Old 05-13-2014, 08:36 AM
rhygin
3rd Gear