R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 R56 Stock Headlights Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2016, 04:42 PM
Promius
2nd Gear
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
R56 Stock Headlights Replacement

Hello!

I have a 2013 MCS that I'm thinking of replacing the stock headlights with something a little more sexy.

I've seen the Spec-D Blackout Halos, but the reviews are so bad. Same with with Spyder Headlights.

I'm looking for HALO/LED/HID whatever, just something fun and hopefully Black/Blackout kit. I've tried looking online but I keep bumping to the Spec-Ds mostly.

I'm a total noob have had my MINI for 2 months now. I've checked out most of the usual MINI part sites but coming up short.

What do you guys recommend?

Thanks!
G

Old 02-29-2016, 06:45 PM
Sculsz
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Why don't you do a projector retrofit? These headlights are very easy to take apart. I just did my 2007 and added projectors with HID's. They look great. Keep in mind you may need to code the computer to NOT do a bulb check. Mine flashes for a few seconds when I start my car. It does not bother me.

I baked mine in the oven at 225deg for 6 minutes... used a couple of screwdrivers to pry it apart... was fairly easy. Just gotta be careful!!

Old 03-01-2016, 08:41 AM
PelicanParts.com
Vendor
Received 62 Likes on 59 Posts
If you have the Halogen headlights you could do the upgrade to Xenon HERE. There is also a white turn signal option headlight there to get ride of the amber. +1 on blacking them out yourself. It's very easy to remove the bulbs/mounting items and bake the headlights so that you can open them up to spray paint the inner bits. I used a black paint and then did a silver flake over it to give it some dressing up. The Xenon programming has to be activated otherwise you'll get the flickering as Sculsz said above.