R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Cooling Issues At The Track?

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2020, 07:18 AM
Brad From FL
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cooling Issues At The Track?

I am relatively new to the Mini World (always admired it from afar) and am looking at preparing my '13 JCW Hardtop for track day use.
I have found many threads that address brakes, suspension, and power but I have not found any that address the cooling system capacity. Also, I have been unable to locate any aftermarket radiator with more capacity than the stock one.
There are three possible reasons for this that I can see:
  1. My Google Fu is weak
  2. The stock radiator is sufficient for track day use and nobody bothers with upgrades
  3. It is common knowledge that a custom radiator is required
My home track is Sebring, and it tends to get hot here during the summer so cooling issues are second only to brakes from my perspective.
Can someone offer some advice or better yet actual experience data?

Old 01-31-2020, 08:42 PM
squawSkiBum
Received 302 Likes on 223 Posts
I haven't had any cooling issues on my various track days, and a couple of those have been back to back sessions swapping with my son. Just push the Sport mode button, that will keep the engine temp to 180F. There's plenty of cooling capacity, if you have a way of monitoring the coolant temperature (OBD2 <-> Bluetooth dongle plus the Torque app on your phone for example) it is really impressive to see how fast the temperature drops from 220 to 180 when you hit Sport mode. Install some brake pads appropriate for track use, flush with high temp brake fluid, check your engine fluids and tires, and you're good to go.

Old 02-06-2020, 01:55 PM
Brad From FL
Neutral
I appreciate the info that you have provided.
I was unaware the Sport button changes the thermostat temperature.
Looks like I'll be going to the track sooner than expected.