R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 New Mini And New To Minis (Building a Track Car)

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2022, 07:41 AM
Hickory
1st Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
New Mini And New To Minis (Building a Track Car)

Old Thermostat Housing
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum, and as most people, they're probably coming here to get a bunch of questions answered, and I have a bunch. I'll give you a little back story, I'm not a mechanic, but I don't mind turning a wrench, I live in Michigan, so I'm more comfortable with American made cars, and I've never messed with a mini until we bought this one a few days ago. The car is a 2007 S. I'm building out a weekend track car, not looking to go crazy with it, just something that can hold it's own, and wheel around a track.

We picked up the 07 for a steal, because we knew going in it had some issues. The first was the thermostat which we swapped out yesterday. The old thermostat looked like a pitbull had got inside the engine and chewed on it from the inside out. Here are my first line of questions, hopefully someone can help me out.

1. While bleeding the coolant, I loosened up the bleeding screw, and waited to see coolant. I had the heat on High, the reservoir would drain, and I'd fill as we went, but I'd never see coolant seap out from the bleeder. This went on for easily 20 minutes or more, finally i loosened the screw too much and the thing popped out. I was able to shut down the car and get the screw back in very quickly...and started the process over. (obviously there was coolant coming out when the screw popped out). Still no seapage.