R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Why would a Footwell Module just stop working?

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2024, 09:21 PM
shelzmike
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Why would a Footwell Module just stop working?

I get the FRM going out is a bit of a "common" problem but I am an analyst by trade and problems that crop up after doing a bunch of work are almost always related to said work being done. Usually totally unrelated problems don't just crop up but in this case I am lost.

2011 Mini Base Hatch. I recently did quite a bit of work including replacing my clutch, opening up the gearbox for some inspection as I thought I had some bearing issues (turns out not the case), put it all back together. This took me about 2 weeks as it is not my only vehicle so I had the luxury of taking my time. It was in a garage the entire time. Battery was disconnected the entire time it was the first thing I did and reconnecting it was the last thing I did. Opened the door and I noticed something suspicious that none of the ambient lighting was on and I didn't hear the tone. Started no problem then I realized I had the classic fcm issues. Windows won't roll down, headlights are on but I cannot switch between high and low beam, hazards don't work, backlighting in the instrument doesn't work. Reading lights do work, radio works, side reading lights for the rear whatever you call on either side of the dome do work. HVAC works, etc. I am all but positive it's the FRM.

I have power at the fuse and the fuse is good. I have not yet opened up the side panel and the foot well to pull out and test power at the fcm, though I am pretty sure I'm going to find power there based on my previous findings.