R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Insurance Rates?

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2007, 09:01 AM
JohnBLZ
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Insurance Rates?

I'm curious to see what the R56 is going to look like on the insurance rates w/ DSC and the active/passive safety features included.

Thoughts?

Any insurance agents out there?

Old 01-17-2007, 09:18 AM
manifest
3rd Gear
If you have your vin you should be able to get a quote from your insurance agent.

Old 01-17-2007, 09:31 AM
CR&PW&JB
OVERDRIVE
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
I'm not an agent. But I've been an Underwriting Manager for the past 5 years, now cross-training into the Claims Department for the world's largest Insurer. Close enough ?

You specifically mentioned DSC and passive safety systems (airbags/seatbelts). Let me address them separately for you.

1. DSC. Some companies might have discounts for DSC as part of their broad "safety discounts" category. Other companies don't offer a discount for DSC as part of their package, realizing that the increased safety provided by the DSC will reflect in statistics gathered and will hence reflect in that particular vehicles Insurance Rating Group (IRG).

2. Passive safety items, such as airbags or restraints. Almost all companies do include these items in their safety discounts packages. Just make sure your agent understands what features your MINI has so you get the discounts you are entitled to receive.

Other questions ?

Old 01-17-2007, 09:52 AM
Col.Bobby
2nd Gear
Insurance on MCS not expensive

I am an insurance agent, and own a 2005 MCS, and in my experience the Mini (S) is not expensive to insure. The cost associated with the vehicle model itself is proportional to the sticker price. There is no "sports-car" or "high performance" surcharge. It is "value rated" as equivalent to a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The Mini is not expensive to insure, but YOU might be!