R57 :: Cabrio Talk (2009+) Cooper and Cooper S convertible (R57) discussion.

R57 Convertible in Michigan

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2009, 12:31 PM
spartan
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Convertible in Michigan

As you will see from my profile I am located in the wonderful state of Michigan. I am new to this mini madness and for weeks have been planning the purchase of an '10 MCS. Last night, while discussing this purchase with my wife she threw a new idea into the mix, "what about a convertible?" Never in my life have I owned a convertible, and really to this point ever considered it, but now that the seed has been planted.....

My question is, am I crazy for considering a convertible in a state with cold weather like Michigan? How does a convertible MCS hold up in the cold weather and snow? Any other considerations I should be making?

Thanks in advance.

Old 10-22-2009, 05:20 AM
AustinS
4th Gear
You are not that far north of me and I had the same thoughts but after a few months I am happy with my decision and I think you would be too.

I wouldn't say this except on this forum but - after driving all the Mini models and all configurations - to me the convertible epitomizes the spirit of the Mini...open and fun.

You may not have the top down as much as in the lower states, but when you do, you will know it was worth getting. there is nothing like the feel of open motoring.

May I also suggest the "S" with manual trans. It is the most fun.

Old 10-22-2009, 09:10 AM
spartan
1st Gear
I love the sport stripes. Were they dealer installed? I cannot seem to find them on the on-line configuator.

Old 10-22-2009, 09:43 AM
AustinS
4th Gear
The stripes can be installed by the dealer or at the port of entry. Or if you want you can DIY.

In the configurator, you will find them in step 6, exterior styling.

BTW - Check out Jeremy's "Nothing quite like it" post. He is in Maryland where I think it gets cold too.

Old 10-22-2009, 11:10 AM
spartan
1st Gear