R58 :: Coupé Talk (2012+) MINI Coupé (R58) discussion.

R58 Problems the Coupe might have?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2011 | 05:38 PM
v2Bob
|
2nd Gear
Question Problems the Coupe might have?

What problems might the Coupe share with other MINIs? Problems that leave you suddenly stranded and/or are very expensive, not a trim rattle the dealer can't find or the odd dash design. From reading other threads on this site my concerns are vacuum pump failure that leads to a totaled engine, HPFP failure, and clutches that need to be replaced long before they should.

I'm a complete MINI newbie, so it's a bit confusing knowing what the different models and years have in common. I'm willing to give up some reliability for the things I like about the Coupe, but I hope to have it a long time without it failing me when I'm some some remote place out West or needing a engine replaced.

Also I know a rare problem can seem much more common online. The flip side of that is that a forum such as this tends to be populated by fans of the product. ;-)

Thanks

Old 09-20-2011 | 06:22 PM
PatM
6th Gear
Impossible to know. It's a new model, first year. Read other threads.

My minis were pretty much trouble free.

There are a half million threads on this. You can find em for the Countryman, the R56, well heck all of em.

I'm positive that I will have zero problems.

End of story as far as I am concerned. (I'm going to stay out of this thread. Read too many just like this. This may not be the car for you. It is a new model.)

Last edited by PatM; 09-20-2011 at 06:28 PM.
Old 09-20-2011 | 06:40 PM
PezRadar
5th Gear
Originally Posted by v2Bob