Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Brake question

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2008, 08:43 PM
eastmtmini
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake question

Anyone had a problem with their Mini pulling hard to the right when braking? Happens every once in awhile when I'm stopping at an intersection. Steering wheel rotates completely around as well. Brake dust on the wheels perhaps? Thanks for your diagnosis. 2006 MC.

Last edited by eastmtmini; 02-08-2008 at 09:34 PM.
Old 02-08-2008, 09:35 PM
R56 Ed
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Greetings-

I'm not a mechanic, so please take these thoughts with a grain of salt and use your own common sense. It seems as though there might be several potential contributing factors. If the problem only happens occasionally but not always, I would be reluctant to suspect anything in your brake system (pads/rotors/master cylinder). Of course, you've already checked the fluid level in your brake reservoir, just to be sure. Right? Power steering working and fluid level okay? And checked the wheel lug bolts for proper torque (just in case some might be loose).

Are there any other factors, like a recent service appointment right before this problem began? Or are you overdue for a service? Perhaps you hit a bad pothole or were in an accident? Any strange vibrations or noises coming from the front suspension? Could something be loose or missing from your steering linkage?