Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Helping Identifying Mushrooming

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2009, 10:41 AM
toughluck
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Helping Identifying Mushrooming

Hello,

I am a noob to NAM and planning to purchase either a R53 (2006-2007) or R56 (2007) sometime in the near future. I scanned countless number of NAM treads discussing mushrooming (and even searched google images) but I am having difficulty interpreting photos of struts towers that have mushroomed. I saw a couple of images of damaged towers but for the life of me, still cannot see what is wrong with them. Can anyone help me better this? (or draw a red arrow to what I should be paying attention to when looking for used MINIs?). Thanks.

Old 01-05-2009, 10:49 AM
toughluck
1st Gear
Okay,

https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...94-post81.html

I actually replied to my own post. Amazing to see these photos (from someone knowing little about MINIs)

Old 01-05-2009, 11:07 AM
Gil-galad
Coordinator :: Eastern Iowa MINIs
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Hi toughluck -- good on you for continuing to research your question on your own.

The picture you found seems to show a pretty extreme case. I think in a lot of instances it might be a bit more subtle. The giveaway clue for me has always been the degree to which the three strut tower bolts are not parallel to each other. I think they are pretty darn close to parallel--if not fully so--when there's no mushrooming. This is corroborated by the design of most aftermarket strut tower plates, which seem to have a planer surface against which the mounting bolts are tightened.

In fact, in the pic you found labeled "flat tower" I would say there's already a bit of mushrooming starting to manifest itself.