Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

O2 Sensor???

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2010 | 06:26 PM
Tomaxmini
|
Neutral
O2 Sensor???

On Sunday my SES light came on. I needed to exchange a set of light bulbs that I had purchased anyway so I went to the auto parts store and had them hook up that diagnostic tool to see what the code was. The guy at the store said that it was my right side upstream O2 sensor. He mentioned that it might make the car idle oddly and affect gas mileage. I had been noticing for a couple of months that the car would occasionally idle slightly higher than usual ~1100 rpm instead of ~750. So I figured that I would just replace it myself. I got online that night and ordered the NTK oem part. That sucker was expensive $142 not including shipping, and I got the Haynes book to go with it. So $200 later I felt confident that I would fix my baby with my own two hands. Well the next morning I fired her up, and that stinking SES light went out.

So I have a couple of questions. Should I change the part even though the light is no longer on? How many of these O2 sensors does my car have? Can I be sure that I have changed the right one when there is no light to indicate that I have? Any extra input is great.

Thank you for any help. I used to work on my old Honda, and did it with flying colors, and a heck of a lot less money. I am less confident about my Mini. By the way it is an '04.

Old 05-06-2010 | 07:03 PM
gear-head
2nd Gear
You have two O2 sensors, one before and one after the cat. I would hold on to the one you bought for now, since they really shouldn't need to be replaced until 100K.

Sometimes bad gas or something will trip the code, the light comes on, then after a while the code clears and it goes away.