Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Noob Question(s)

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2010, 11:47 PM
E30King
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Noob Question(s)

Yeah so I'm fairly new to the whole Mini-scene! Being a BMW-enthusiast, I can pretty much appreciate what they have come up with. Anyways, I've been thinking about making a purchase of a 2004 MCS with what I've read so far, a crappy autotragic tranny. So as come to reliability, are the '04 automatics better than the previous years which has MAJOR issues with the CVT?

This MCS that I'm looking at is gorgeous and I really do like it. But this whole CVT issue does worry me, especially when they do die. So of course, the manual tranny is the prefered choice. Are they virtually bullet-proof, or also had some issues?

I've been doing some reading and the reviews on the tranny is very mixed and I'd like a straight answer if possible.

...also, I have heard of the manual swaps. Are they somewhat manageable? I know that there has to be some ECU programming and wiring BS that has to be done. But has anyone actually do it? (any links would be helpful) Tranny swaps aren't new to me, I've done two swaps to my BMW's from auto to 5-speed. ('90 E30 325i and '88 E24 635CSi)

Old 06-01-2010, 06:20 AM
Suzanne's Chili Red S
4th Gear
No MCS autos have or ever had the CVT. The regular Coopers had the CVT. The S has an Aisin built 6 speed auto which has proven to be very relaible.

Old 06-01-2010, 06:48 AM
ofioliti
6th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by E30King
...I've been thinking about making a purchase of a 2004 MCS with what I've read so far, a crappy autotragic tranny. ...
I believe the automatic transmission came out in the '05 model year, so you either have the year wrong or you have a manual.

Old 06-01-2010, 12:55 PM
E30King
Neutral