Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Low Speed Fan

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2010, 06:00 PM
lonelysuperstar
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Low Speed Fan

Seems many are having this issue and am thinking it may be my problem as well. I was told not too long ago by a local Mini dealer that my low speed fan would need to be replaced to the tune of almost $700

I blew it off mainly becasue one it was the dealer (not so great experience), and two I am relatively new to Mini's and the price of labor! Recently I have noticed that my temp gauge is getting up there, not in the red but often times close. The AC still works, but my secondar fan is kicking in.

My questions are:
1. Is this a FIX IT NOW situation?
2. If so, where do I buy this part?
3. Does anyone know of a shop in the DC/VA area that will do this job for a reasonable price?

Thanks in advance

Old 07-10-2010, 06:22 PM
ZippyNH
6th Gear
Received 35 Likes on 35 Posts
You can buy the parts....an aftermaket fan that looks and functions like the oem for less than $100, checkout Rock-auto, e-bay, etc. Then add maybe 2 hrs of shop time for the install, max, and you are done. $300 would be the total more or less....less than half the cost of the dealer. Running hot is very bad....both for the car and the ac compressor, get it fixed....it can be done diy if you are adventurous, and save about $200 too. There are several threads and numerous pictures around...it would take most home mechanics maybe 3-4 hours to do it since the bumper cover, the metal under the bumper cover, etc must be removed, then reinstalled...doable, but a bit involved. But good to know.

Old 07-10-2010, 07:02 PM
Rich.Wolfson
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by lonelysuperstar