Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Overheating Mini,no solution.HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2011, 07:15 PM
bmdouble
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Overheating Mini,no solution.HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have several postings with the same problem.My father-in-law replaced my head gaskets with my supervision(due to my back injury).I am a Ford master tech and my father in law has also been a tech in the air force for 20 yrs.We sent the head to get milled even though it had only .003 warpage and had it pressure tested.We used a factory head gasket and new bolts,thermostat and housing,new waterpump with new o-ring,new reservoir cap,reservoir not leaking.It also has a new radiator,cooling fans.It never smokes upon start-up,but we see coolant in the oil,and on oil cap(sweet taste,water droplets).Is it possible that I could still have a small crack in the head behind a valve seat? or am I looking at a cracked block? I have heard of cases of bad valve seats.If anyone lives near San Antonio contact me! I am in a predicament because of my back issues and cannot do any work on my car.

Old 06-06-2011, 07:25 PM
WayMotorWorks
Vendor
Received 762 Likes on 622 Posts
It's not super common, but check the oil cooler on the oil filter housing, we've seen a few go bad.

HOTCHKIS | DDM | CRAVEN | AKRAPOVIC | NM ENGINEERING | MEGAN | FORGE | OS GIKEN | POWERFLEX and more

Old 06-07-2011, 11:53 AM
bmdouble
1st Gear
If it was the oil cooler,wouldn't there be oil in the coolant? or in the cars that you have seen them fail,have in fact failed with coolant in the oil only?

Old 06-07-2011, 06:56 PM
ghurm001
2nd Gear