Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

strange list of problems with '03 Mini

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2012, 07:38 AM
cwaggy
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
strange list of problems with '03 Mini

Hi Everyone! I am new to NAM and although I am trying to catch up on all the threads, I am pretty sure that I never will get to read them all!! I bought my Mini about a year ago and it has had a few quirks that I have been able to work through but now I am getting strange problems that I have seen addressed here altogether...
1. my power steering goes out randomly. When I am driving, when I am parking, when I am stopped at a red light - it seems to make no difference. Sometimes I hear a fan, sometimes not. When the steering goes out I simply turn off the car and start it right up again and the steering works again. This leads me to believe that it is not a fan problem or overheating issue, otherwise it wouldnt come back on after a few seconds.
2. I frequently have a fan running while car is running and after it is turned off - I have thought that this is an engine cooling fan since we have had an incredibly hot summer this year, but now wonder if it is in fact the PS fan - how can I tell?
3. The dashboard gauges stop working from time to time. This has only happened twice - both times while driving and both times for only a few seconds and then they come back on fully functional. One of these times the PS was also lost but the engine had to be turned off and back on to restore it.