Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

To sell or to repair-please help!

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2012, 11:25 AM
elees
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
To sell or to repair-please help!

I have an 03 mini cooper that I love but she's been in the shop more times than I care to count. I have been having some over heating issues and just got a call from my mechanic that I need a new water pump, thermostat, and he suspects I have a leaky head gasket resulting in about $3000 dollars worth of reparis. I am a social worker and I feel like I cannot continue to shell out all this money on repairs. I owe a little over $4000 on my loan and wonder if I should just try and trade it in for something that will cost less at the shop. I love my coop but it maybe time to say goodbye. Some insight and advice is needed!!

Old 10-25-2012, 09:51 AM
PelicanParts.com
Vendor
Received 62 Likes on 59 Posts
Have you tried getting different estimates from other repair shops in the area?

888.280.7799 | 6am - 5pm PST
Old 10-25-2012, 10:52 AM
Kahnfucious
5th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I don't know your particular car, but if you need something reliable and something that isn't going to cost you an arm and a leg then it might be time to say goodbye to your cooper. Just the sheer hassle of needing to catch rides from people, let alone putting off that vacation or special treat you wanted for yourself month after month is reason enough for me if the car has proven to need a lot of repair work.