Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

aux fan stage 1 not working, stage 2 on and off

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2014, 03:51 PM
majestic
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
aux fan stage 1 not working, stage 2 on and off

I know this has been covered a lot here, but there are some misdirections as to how the aux radiator fan should work. I am brand new to MINI's and just had the power steering pump fan replaced. MINI told me that my aux fan stage 1 wasnt working and that the stage 2 was working. I went out to my car and checked to see if they were telling me the truth and upon looking WITH THE A/C ON the fan would spin on low and then the high speed fan would cut on for about 5 seconds then cut off work a little and cut back on and it would keep repeating this. WITH THE A/C OFF it did not do this and the fan would not spin, i dont think it got hot enough to warrant the high speed fan coming on but the low speed fan was not coming on. would this be the resistor? or the whole fan?

Old 10-13-2014, 05:01 PM
elchilo4ever
2nd Gear
Hi!

Just The Resistor.

Old 10-13-2014, 10:19 PM
Eric_Rowland
OVERDRIVE
Received 45 Likes on 40 Posts
If the fan goes on at low speed with the AC on, it's not the resistor. That it kicked over to high intermittently - that's strange. Haven't heard of that one.
It takes quite a while for the high speed to come on at idle - 234deg, IIRC.
So while your low speed is working (turning on with the AC proves that), something isn't right.

Old 10-13-2014, 10:34 PM
majestic
1st Gear