Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

04 Mini will not start.

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2016, 06:13 PM
2004minicooper
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
04 Mini will not start.

Hello all, would appreciate your help with my mini's issue. I got a new alternator, new belt, new battery and a new starter. It will not start, luckely it happened in my driveway. I was able to hit the old starter with a hammer and got it started long enough to get it into my garage on ramps. Replaced the starter on Saturday thinking that was the issue and it still will not start. I turn the key everything lights up like normal and turn the key all the way thru and nothing no clicking. I have checked all the fuses and they are all good from what I can see, I am not a mechanic, but I was able to replace the alternator and starter myself with help from YouTube. I would appreciate any input you have to sove this issue.

Thank you.

Old 02-05-2016, 06:41 PM
-=gRaY rAvEn=-
Received 65 Likes on 55 Posts
If there is not enough charge in the battery, the DME will not allow you to start the car as a way to protect its systems, but will light up the dash enough to make you think its ok.
How old / what is the condition of the battery?

Old 02-05-2016, 06:43 PM
2004minicooper
Neutral
Battery and alternator are 3 weeks old.
Starter is 1 week olsd.2

Old 02-06-2016, 06:21 AM
-=gRaY rAvEn=-
Received 65 Likes on 55 Posts
More info needed.

Please better explain "doesn't start". That could mean starter works but engine doesn't fire up or could mean when turning the key to position II nothing happens at all...

MINI is somewhat finicky in respect to OEM parts. And most if not all aftermarket alternators even if it's a BOSCH unit are not the same as the ones from MINI. And if they do work, crap out in 1 -3 months.