Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Nobody can diagnose this-Can anyone help please?

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2017, 02:55 PM
Mabber
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Nobody can diagnose this-Can anyone help please?

Hello,

First let me preface my post by conceding I have no mechanical knowledge of motors etc.

I am hoping this post will lead to an answer of an ongoing problem I have been having with my 2010 Automatic, Mini Cooper S, Factory JCW stage 1 Tuning kit.

My car which I bought second hand, was delivered to the original owner with a factory installed ($3000 cdn option), JCW stage 1 Tuning Kit. Presumably the first owner could not drive a manual hence the upgraded engine option with steptronic and paddle shifters.

Although the car has been an absolute pleasure to drive, ever since I bought it, it has occassionally presented an ongoing issue which has never been resolved. I have had the car inspected twice by 2 separate MINI dealerships, one independent garage, and an ex-colleague who is an excellent mechanic.

Although I admit the problem is difficult to diagnose, I am still puzzled that nobody has been able to pinpoint it.

The problem:

During the acceleration phase, under normal and more assertive accelerations, I will hear a linkage type sound towards the back of the car, presumably in the exhaust system. That sound transfers back to the gas peddle and forces me to back off of the gas peddle as it causes a fractured acceleration and creates a minor misfire.

As soon as I experienced the issue with my car in my first year of owning it, (have owned it for 3yrs now) I brought it to the attention of MINI mechanics at the factory MINI Service Centre that has handled all of my maintenance and repairs.