Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Before I tear into this thing again... (no compression on 1-3 after rebuild)

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2020, 09:44 AM
CantComplain
2nd Gear
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Before I tear into this thing again... (no compression on 1-3 after rebuild)

Apologies in advance for the length of this post. It's about problems related to a tear-down.

2007 R52 (Convertible S w/W11 engine). I acquired it with frothy/chocolate milky oil and a story about a cloud of smoke (steam, I'm guessing) that was driven for another 15 miles post incident. I got it after a brake shop (!) had already torn it down and removed the head, so the accessories and important bits came in a box on the passenger seat. I'm no mechanic, but I have done this same job on an R56 that turned out **** (until getting T-boned 3 weeks later....but that's a different story chronicled elsewhere on NAM).