Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Low RPM hesitation

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2020, 07:22 PM
Yjsaabman
5th Gear
Received 191 Likes on 135 Posts
Low RPM hesitation

So over the last year plus my wife and I have been saving a 2003 Cooper S while it serves as her daily. I am an auto tech by trade, so I know my way around a vehicle and am not afraid to dive in. You can see some of the history in the build thread I have elsewhere on NAM. Started with some basic maintenance items like all new tires and brakes, fix a coolant leak, exhaust repair, etc. The car was seriously lacking in power, though. So I dove in and replaced the wasted bypass valve. It ran better, but still seemed to pull back once it started to rev, around 2500 rpm. Finally pulled all the spark plugs vs just #1, and found 3 and 4 wasted. Replaced the plugs and what a difference! Except now it just blew the worn clutch off. Best and worst tune up ever! Lol! Ended up installing a Valeo single mass setup and love it. Overall the car is running pretty well, and I don't think my wife really ever gets on it and understands how quick this car really is. I drive the car occasionally, more so these days as I'm still going into work and she is working from home, so Grumpy needs his exercise. I've been noticing that pull back, or hesitation, again. It feels like the ECM pulling timing. I haven't pulled the plugs recently, but they were replaced with OE spec NGK units. It also came with NGK plug wires, and what appears to be a stock coil. If I pull the plugs and 3 and 4 are wasted again, after only 9 months, would the gurus recommend coil replacement? Thanks for your insight and advice.

Old 05-01-2020, 07:27 PM
xsmini
6th Gear
Received 28 Likes on 21 Posts
Milage? S or non?

Nik

Old 05-01-2020, 08:02 PM
cooper48
6th Gear