Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

How much play should shifter have in gear?

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2023, 06:55 AM
Starting Over
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How much play should shifter have in gear?

I'm pretty new to Mini Coopers, but it seems like there is an excessive amount of play on the shifter while in gear. I've attached a video showing the amount of play while it's in first gear.

If this is an issue any clue what may need to be fixed/adjusted before I start tearing into it?

Attached Files
File Type: mov
Untitled Project.mov (5.83 MB, 27 views)
Old 03-02-2023, 01:39 AM
imaslowdriver
3rd Gear
Received 28 Likes on 24 Posts
I think that's normal for these cars. Mine does the same. I don't think it's an issue other than being an annoyance.

Old 03-03-2023, 03:10 AM
Daftlad
4th Gear
Received 202 Likes on 163 Posts
Was just wondering this the other day. Hard to tell with the longer shift lever which only amplifies the apparent movement but mine has some play as well. At least now I'm not the only one who's unsettled by this...

Old 03-03-2023, 05:41 AM
RockC
5th Gear
Received 214 Likes on 179 Posts
Originally Posted by Starting Over
I'm pretty new to Mini Coopers, but it seems like there is an excessive amount of play on the shifter while in gear. I've attached a video showing the amount of play while it's in first gear.

If this is an issue any clue what may need to be fixed/adjusted before I start tearing into it?
The video didn't work for me.

If you can select each gear with no drama no missed shift no popping out of gear (not necessarily a shift linkage problem but a problem nonetheless) the play while it might feel excessive is not excessive.

To possibly tighten this up a new shifter with new shift bushings/ball sockets/etc will probably be required.