Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

cruise rpm

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2005, 05:20 PM
gunbunny
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
cruise rpm

I've been driving my Mini for the last four months. I have 4000 miles on it, and after a "by the book" break-in period, I throttle the hell out of it every day. I LOVE this car. My wife cannot drive it because I get up before she does...

Anyway, I understand this car gets its torque from the rather high gearing. My question is this, I normally cruise at about 70-75 mph, with the tach at 3200-4000 rpm. I understand that not all engines are the same, that some are designed to rev higher than others. I also understand that the fully synthetic oil is a much higher standard of lubrication than straight mineral oil. It just seems that I won't be driving my mini long with the rpm's so high.

Is it all in my head? What do the rest of you cruise at, mph/rpm? Trust me, going 70mph around here only means you should stay in the slow lane; the rigs will blow by you.

Old 02-10-2005, 07:12 PM
kapps
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You should be fine as long as you give the engine some time to warm up before you stomp on it. Do you have a Cooper or an S because my S is at 3k rpm at 70 mph and 4k rpm at 100 mph in 6th gear. The small engine in the MINI is meant to be revved to get power and is perfectly capable of consistent 3k+ rpm driving. Just not right after you start up from cold...

Old 02-10-2005, 07:19 PM
10851CS
Former Vendor
Originally Posted by kapps