Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Xenon headlights?

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2006, 08:38 AM
daffodildeb
6th Gear
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Xenon headlights?

A little patience here, please--I'm new at this. I ordered Xenons with my new MINI, and now I'm having second thoughts. I'm worried about maintenance, especially now that these cars have bi-xenons.

If I get a rock hit on my headlight, how much is it to replace the light? I had a problem with the igniter in a BMW headlight, and it was $400 (installed). Is this what I'd pay for a rock? I live out in the country and would like the light the Xenons offer, but I also do freeway driving where there are lots of semis throwing up junk.

It isn't too late to change the specs on my MINI--am I making a mistake by going with the Xenons?

Old 12-19-2006, 08:48 AM
jonnieoh
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Having driven MINI's both with and without Xenons, (and my car has them), I firmly believe that the benefits of having the Xenons far outweigh the possible negatives.

My vote is keep the xenons.

Old 12-19-2006, 08:56 AM
BlimeyCabrio
6th Gear
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
... and get the thick clear headlight protectors - I got them with my clearbra install - not bulletproof, but certainly rock resistant...

Old 12-19-2006, 08:58 AM
xsmini
6th Gear
Received 28 Likes on 21 Posts
Originally Posted by daffodildeb
am I making a mistake by going with the Xenons?
No.....

Nik

Old 12-19-2006, 09:00 AM
Wolfshiem
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts