Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension M7 Strut Plates / Strut Bar Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2011 | 09:22 AM
PepeSylvia
|
Neutral
M7 Strut Plates / Strut Bar Question

Just aquired an 06 MCS It has M7 strut plates on it. Pretty much my first post about this mini, I am a noob. I was wondering if anyone knows of a strut bar that can go on with this installed, or would I have to remove this and get an all in one solution? Also anyone with a strut bar notice any differences? It is a prtty solid car with out it, just wondering if it is worth it.

Thanks Mike

Old 05-16-2011 | 10:26 AM
Vollgas
6th Gear
M7 makes a very stout strut bar with the 3 hole plates.
You kind of get everything rolled into one with it.
You can always sell the strut plates after you get the bar.
Yes, the strut bar does add to the chassis rigidity.

Old 05-16-2011 | 10:51 AM
Act_04
4th Gear
I have the M7 bar and plates and I was told by a guy that I had to remove the insulation on the hood so it could close properly. Well, apparently you can also get the insulation wet, then shut the hood and it will crush the insulation where the bar is, so you can keep your insulation. I dunno, but right now the bar contacts a small spot on one of the structural braces on my hood and will rattle sometimes at idle.

The only reason my bar hits my hood is because the Alta CAI box w/top pushes the bar up a little.

Just some extra info^

I didn't notice any change with the bar, but I'm sure it does something for rigidity besides looking good.

Old 05-16-2011 | 09:26 PM
ggcadc
4th Gear