Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension Front Camber Question!

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2005, 06:22 PM
Morefun
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Front Camber Question!

How much negative camber can be cranked into the front end with out resorting to adjustable plates? I assume that lower springs ie; H-Sports add some neg. on their own....

Cheers,

Old 02-27-2005, 07:55 PM
Wiggles
4th Gear
You can't crank in any -camber. It's not adjustable in the front at all. On MCS built after 1/1/05 you can adjust the rear camber. I think most people will end up reducing the rear camber rather than increasing it. I've been told that most MCS come with about -0.5 camber in the front and -1.0 in the rear. It's built in understeer. At least on the new MCS you can reduce rear camber and hopefully get closer to neutral handling. I'm pretty new to the MINI but I've been asking allot of questions and reading about alignment.

Here's my '05 MCS G stock set-up:

Front:
1/16th Toe out
-0.63 degrees camber left / -0.64 degree camber right (not adjustable)

Rear:
1/8" Toe in
-0.50 degrees camber left / -0.51 degrees camber right

I don't know how this is going to work yet. It's completely unproven. I have my first autoX this Sunday. I'll be driving the car on R compound tires for the first time so there's lots to learn.

Springs should increase negative camber, but I'm couldn't tell you how much. I'm a G stalker.

Old 02-27-2005, 08:09 PM
minihune
OVERDRIVE - Racing Champion
Received 67 Likes on 65 Posts
Originally Posted by Morefun
How much negative camber can be cranked into the front end with out resorting to adjustable plates? I assume that lower springs ie; H-Sports add some neg. on their own....

Cheers,