Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension Stupid questions on Camber plates, and handling.

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2005, 11:48 AM
DSlates1983
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stupid questions on Camber plates, and handling.

Sorry im a rookie when it comes to mods.
1. does it really help with handling by cambering the front? Or is it just for style? (i'm a mountain driver, any extra better handling i can get i'll take it.)
2. doesn't it wear out the tires faster? and uneven?
3. Do you need to change your suspension? or can you leave it stock?
4. What is bear camber? not sure if i spelled it right.
5. what about the back?
6. if i were to get a strut brace for the front before cambering would i have to get a different one after?
7. in your eyes, who makes the best camber plates?
8. what about you? do you have them? how much camber? any pics?
Thanks for dealling with me on this one.
Derek

Old 09-29-2005, 04:35 PM
scobib
5th Gear
Originally Posted by DSlates1983
1. does it really help with handling by cambering the front? Or is it just for style? (i'm a mountain driver, any extra better handling i can get i'll take it.)
5. what about the back?
6. if i were to get a strut brace for the front before cambering would i have to get a different one after?
Derek
1. Yes it helps... However, for the street I would say it's wholly unnecessary. If you did any autocrossing or track work, it's definitely a good investment. The only other reason would be if you installed lowering springs that really mess with the camber OR if coilovers. Crisper turn-in, better grip in the corners.

2. Yes, it can increase tire wear, especially in the front. It's important to rotate your tires more often if you add negative camber. I rotate my track wheels every other event.