Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension understeer/ oversteer?

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2006, 01:10 PM
oneM1KE
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
understeer/ oversteer?

Hey everyone, im thinking of getting a rear sway for my MCS and just have a few simple questions. As i am really new to the driving world and its definitions, i would like to know exactly what is understeer and oversteer. I've read that having the stiffest setting (ie: H-sport comp) would be the most dangerous for a regular street driver, why is that? Again, i am new to the performance driving world and would just like to learn the basics first. Thanks a lot!

Old 02-24-2006, 01:33 PM
kapps
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Oversteer is when the rear end looses traction before the front; usually causing your rear end to swap positions with the front. Under steer is when the front wheels loose traction before the rear causing you to plow straight instead of turning.

For the average driver, understeer is preferable because the first thing most people will do when they loose traction is to get off the gas and/or on the brakes. This will actually help an understeer situation by transfering weight to the front wheels (which have lost grip). If you try to do this when your oversteering, it's all over and you end up looking in the wrong direction.

The MINI is set up stock to understeer in nearly all situations. A stiffer rear bar will increase the tendancy to oversteer AND reduce the tendancy to understeer by forcing the rear weight to transfer to the front tires. This means you will oversteer with less force on the brakes than the stock bar would allow. It also means you can keep your foot into it much longer through the corner without the need to brake because your front tires will still be gripping.